Curious George Birthday

curious george balloons.jpg__161x400_q85

For my little guys second birthday it had to be a Curious George party. When planning my decorations I always look at what I already have. Buying tons of themed everything can be fun, but then if I have leftovers, it can only ever be what it is. I like to work with colors to convey my theme. With George its pretty simple. Primary colors. Red, Yellow and Blue. I added green to help pull in my existing part supplies.

This is what I came up with:

©cstoufflet

 I already had the placemats, plates, the cloth under the cake ( actually a receiving blanket I made for them as babies), the wrapping paper and birthday sign.  I made this Happy Birthday sign for the boys first birthday. I plan to use it every year forever and ever. I keep the name part of the sign with the tissue paper poms over their bedroom window as decoration for their room. I love it. 

Tip- I keep a box in my hall closet and I store all my party supplies in it. I have had a different theme every year for each child’s birthday but have used the same basic supplies over and over. Plus if I see cute supplies on clearance I have a place to store them until its party time again. This saves me time and money.

IMG_0603

IMG_0622

For the yellow hat I just used a yellow cup and plate. The cup has a strip of brown construction paper around it with a small black rectangle for a buckle. I love it!

Ps- double stick tape is my new best friend. Perfect or little projects like these cups.

©cstoufflet

IMG_0618

IMG_0621

This was the first time I had ever bought a store made cake. I got it from the WalMart bakery. While I really liked the way it looked I think we are a homemade cake family. The frosting is just so darn sweet! I drove all over town looking for the Curious George dolls and ended up ordering them from the PBS wed site HERE.

IMG_0611Balloons are a must for a birthday in our house. I only ever get them for birthdays and the kids know that when the balloons arrive its party time.

IMG_0615

IMG_0625

IMG_0661

Checking out their party!

IMG_1742

Sweet and simple.

Happy Birthday to my little monkeys!

Love this? Be sure and FOLLOW ME on Facebook or sign up for email so you never miss a post.

Leave a Reply

