Valentines Day Dessert – Red Velvet Trifle

This year for Valentines day I wanted to make something special. Something  fantastic. So I searched the internet and found this:

recipe_imageA red velvet trifle by Confessions Of A Recovering Chocoholic. Don’t they look awesome?!

Not to mention that I just bought these little pretties from Walmart last week. They were $1.97 each. Perfect!

IMG_1278

You will need to click  HERE for the recipe and directions. I followed them to the T.

I will note two things-

1. If you don’t have a stand mixer or a electric hand mixer beware. Without one I don’t know if you will be able to whip the cream until it makes peaks.

2. She says that this recipe has a prep time of 1 hour and cooking of 30 mins. This doesn’t include the chill time she requests for the pudding and mousse. Which is overnight or at least 3 -4 hours. Glad I started this early in the day! It took me about 45 mins to make all the different parts. Maybe 15 to get them all into the dishes after the chill time is over.

In her comments some people where asking about the consistency of the baked cake batter. Here is a pic of mine.

IMG_1268

And just for reference here is a pic of my mousse and chocolate pudding.

IMG_1269

IMG_1280

I happened to have a small heart shaped cutter. But I found a possible helpful way to make one HERE.

IMG_1273  IMG_1275

IMG_1277

Take your time cutting out the hearts. I made sure I cut mine from the soft parts of the cake. The edges of the cake are hard and when you press into the cake it makes your heart shape want to break apart. Keep in mind that you can make as many tries as you want. Once you have some pretty hearts you are going to crumble the cake.

Then start assembling!

IMG_1286 IMG_1287

IMG_1290

Here is my finished product. I easily made 6. I would say I had enough to make 8. Aren’t they lovely!?  More importantly they taste fantastic!

Thank you Confessions Of A Recovering Chocoholic for the great recipe.

Happy Valentines Day!

Love this? Be sure and FOLLOW ME on Facebook.

Leave a Reply

