Bread Pudding – Paula Deen Revised

IMG_1657

So I set out to make Bread Pudding this week. I did some searching and came across Paula Deen’s recipe. This was not my first time making bread pudding and I was curious as to what the Paula way would be like. She is known for her over the top Southern delicacies ( aka the use of loads of butter on anything and everything) and she held strong to her recipe book with this one. I had to make some changes or this would have been way to rich for my family. Even with the changes it is something to be eaten in small portions and savored. Below is her recipe with my hopefully helpful tweaks.

Paula Deen’s Bread Pudding
Yield: 10 Servings
Course: BreakfastSkill Level: Easy

INGREDIENTS

2 cups sugar ( I used the 2 cups this first time. The next time I make this I plan to reduce the sugar by at least half a cup.)
5 large eggs
2 cups milk
2 tsp. vanilla
3 cups cubed Challah, French, or Italian Bread ( I used a whole large loaf of French bread. 3 cups was nothing compared to the liquid amount. In cups, I used  more like 6 or 8 cups of bread.  ) 

Topping:

1 cup brown sugar packed
1/4 cup butter softened
1 cup chopped pecans

Sauce:

(I used half amounts of sugar, butter and vanilla with a whole egg. Even with the reduced recipe I just poured a small amount over the bread pudding. I used maybe half of the already halved sauce. )

1 cup sugar ( I used 1/2 a cup)
1/2 cup butter melted ( 1/4 a cup)
1 egg beaten
2 tsp. vanilla ( 1 tsp. )

INSTRUCTIONS

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F.
In a large bowl, mix and combine sugar, eggs, milk and vanilla. Add in bread cubes and gently stir in bread crumbs to evenly coat. Let sit for 10 minutes.
While bread cubes are resting/soaking, get out a second medium bowl. Combine brown sugar, butter and pecans until it reaches a crumble.Evenly pour/distribute bread cube mixture in a greased 9×13 pan. Sprinkle brown sugar crumble evenly over the top.

Evenly pour/distribute bread cube mixture in a greased 9×13 pan. Sprinkle brown sugar crumble evenly over the top.
Bake at 350 degrees F for about 40 minutes or until set.
To make sauce, combine sugar, butter, egg and vanilla in a small saucepan. Cook over medium heat until sugar melts.

IMG_1653

Pour over bread pudding. Bread pudding is best served warm.( Here I poured mine over the bread pudding and then placed it back into the oven for an additional 4 to 5 mins. Just enough until it was all golden. )

IMG_1657

This was super easy to make. It would make an awesome dessert for when you have special guests over for dinner. It is super rich and delicious.

Love this? Be sure and Follow Me on Facebook.

Thanks Yall!

Leave a Reply

