Chocolate Cream Cheese Frosting = YUMMY!

chococake1

Last week, I shared the fabulous Zebra Cake For A Safari Party. Now, it’s time to talk about frosting. Chocolate Cream Cheese frosting. It is relatively simple to make, so I am just going to jump right in.

Ingredients

2 1/4 cups confectioners sugar

1/4 cup unsweetened cocoa powder

Pinch of salt

6 ounces cream cheese, room temperature

3/4 cup butter, at room temperature

9 ounces chocolate, grated.

3/4 cup sour cream

Directions

On the top of a double boiler, melt the grated chocolate; stirring occasionally.  I don’t own a double boiler, so I rig one up. I use an old sauce pan that happens to fit this Pyrex bowl perfectly. Be careful to not burn your chocolate! If you do, it will look crumbly and awful. Throw it away and start over. Low heat and stir!

IMG_2678

As it melts, in a bowl, sift the confectioners’ sugar, cocoa, and salt and stir together. I like to use this low pie plate for sifting. For whatever reason, I make less of a mess with this than when using a bowl.

IMG_2676

In a mixing bowl, beat the cream cheese and butter with a mixer on medium-high speed until smooth. ( Sorry for the blur. )

IMG_2675

Reduce speed to low and add sugar-cocoa mixture in increments.

IMG_2679

Beat until combined. Pour in melted chocolate and beat in.  No need to cool the chocolate; just mix it right in. Add the sour cream and beat until combined and creamy smooth. I almost didn’t add the sour cream. It just sounded like such an odd thing to put in frosting. It made the frosting smooth and wonderful.  The frosting needs it, so add it! 

IMG_2680

Frost your cakes. I put the leftover cake in the refrigerator because of the cream cheese and I really disliked the way it changed the cake. It might simply be that I don’t like cold cake but it completely turned me off. I am glad I baked the cakes the night before and waited to frost them the day of the party.  

This tool is really neat. I have no idea what it is called. If you bake, then you need one. If you get creative, I don’t think it would be that hard to rig up something to get the job done. The perfectly level cake top is worth it!

IMG_2681

To keep from losing all the height of my cake, I trimmed off as little as possible. Then I smoothed out a think layer of frosting before adding the top layer. A thick frosting layer gives you a chance to level things out and fill in the gapes caused by the cake curve. Perfect!

IMG_2683

Grab a plate and dig in!!

chococake1

 To see how to make the awesome marbling inside the cake check out my post Zebra Cake.

Love this? Be sure to follow me through email and like me on Facebook!

Original Easy Chocolate Cream Cheese Frosting Recipe found at Grandmothers Kitchen Recipes.

Leave a Reply

